Todd and Murray Clinch Wins at Round Four of the ACU British Supermoto Championship

Davey Todd on the Worthington Developments Honda claiming two out of three race wins

The 2021 British Supermoto Championship moved north of the border to the Fife coastline circuit of Crail for round four on the 12th – 13th June.

The East of Scotland Kart Club circuit played host to a full race schedule including all classes from pit bike, academy, ladies championship and of course all the main events which would see the ‘A’ seeded riders battle it out in raising temperatures.

The National Championship held on the Saturday would see Davey Todd on the Worthington Developments Honda maintain his form and record two victories, whist Scott Murray aboard his Scottlifts Honda halting Todd making it three out of three with a determined and focused ride.

The paddock awoke on Sunday to clear skies, which complemented the stunning surrounding scenery with views over the estuary to Edinburgh. A light breeze would be a welcomed feature of the day as the heat began to increase. From mid-morning and the beginning of the Superpole event temperatures would be hitting 20 degrees. As with every ‘A’ seeded event it would be the top five qualifiers battling it out in the Superpole in a one lap dash to gain grid positions.

Jamie Duncan set the fastest time in qualifying aboard his Trevor Pope Ktm and with this under his belt there was high expectations the Scottish rider would repeat his performance in the Superpole shoot out. The other four riders going through from qualifying would see Davey Todd, Jay Smith, Jordan Bannon and Chris Hodgson take to the circuit individually to push for the all-important front row.

However, at the conclusion of another thrilling Superpole it would be Duncan with a 57.182 pipping Todd by just 0.137 to secure his front row position for race one.


Jamie Duncan Trevor Pope KTM 57.182

Davey Todd Worthington Developments Honda 57.319

Jay Smith HGR Honda 57.562

Jordan Bannon Dave Clarke Racing Husqvarna 58.137

Chris Hodgson Automotive Solutions Husqvarna 58.894

Race One:

As the sun crested in the sky riders lined up with Duncans sights firmly set on the first corner. From the lights Todd and Duncan were shoulder to shoulder, but as they entered turn one it would be the Worthington Developments Honda Rider (Todd) who would take the lead. Duncan, Bannon and Smith all in close pursuit the riders streamed toward the first off road section. Hodgson made a move on Smith to claim fourth position and the remainder of the pack settled down into a steady rhythm. Within five laps Todd and Duncan had opened up a comfortable lead over the nearest rival Bannon. With only a handful of laps remaining the chase for the third place seen Bannon, Hodgson and Smith in contention with Smith coming out on top to cross the line in third position some 5.408 seconds behind eventual winner Todd, second place went to Duncan.

1 Davey Todd

2 Jamie Duncan

3 Jay Smith

4 Jordan Bannon

5 Chris Hodgson

Race Two

Todd on the Honda lined up on the number one position on the grid with Jamie Duncan just to his left. As the lights went out Todd claimed the holeshot with Duncan, Smith, Bannon and Richard Sharp (Team Bathmate) making up the following train of riders split by less than one bikes length between them. The two challenging off road sections of the Crail circuit certainly favours those with motocross backgrounds and it was clearly evident by the high flying leaps some riders were taking, non less than Duncan.

But Todd soon got into the flow of the circuit and began to open up a sizeable gap between second place, whilst the battle for second seen Duncan and Smith in close proximity with the HGR rider (Smith) looking for any opportunity to pass. But as the race neared its conclusion time was running short and with the leading pack now entering the back markers there was a potential that positions could change. However, some skilful riding and consideration from slower riders the final positions would see Todd cross the line first some 0.808 seconds ahead of Duncan and Smith in third.

1 Davey Todd

2 Jamie Duncan

3 Jay Smith

4 Jordan Bannon

5 Richard Sharp

Race Three

Late afternoon and with the sun remaining to bless the riders and onlookers’ riders rolled out for the concluding ‘A’ race of the day. Race three followed the familiar reverse grid format which would see Tom Laycock (Automotive Solutions) take his first ever position on the number one spot.

An anxious Laycock stared deeply into the lights and as soon as extinguished he made a charge for the first corner, however in the mayhem and stampede of riders coming through he was engulfed and by the exit of turn two it would be Scott Murray (Scottlifts Honda) that stormed into the lead. Heading into to the first off road section the procession of rider behind seen Scott Murray take the lead from Hodgson, Todd, Sharp and Smith.

Todd began to put some pressure on Hodgson and on lap seven claimed second position where he began his pursuit of leader Murray. The last lap flag waved within two corners Todd made a pass on Murray to take the lead, opening a small gap up immediately. However, with true Scottish determination Murray regained his position on the second off road section to head toward the finish line claiming the win just 0.129 seconds ahead of Todd. Some three seconds behind the chasing pack for third place seen Hodgson take the chequered flag from fourth place Richard Sharp.

1 Scott Murray

2 Davey Todd

3 Chris Hodgson

4 Richard Sharp

5 Jay Smith

Scott Murray clinching the win in the final race of the day at Crail

Leaving round four riders have a short break before the action commences once again at Three Sisters Race Circuit on the 17th and 18th of July.

Don’t forget, you can catch all the race action from the season on

Neil Jay

Norasport Media & Everything Supermoto United Kingdom

173 views0 comments